Call it a hunch but it’s true. When your kids say something to you, try to listen and understand because it may not mean anything, but for them, it matters.

My daughter now 2 years and 9 month old, and for the past 2 days, she’s getting a fever. I never notice the symptoms’ because she just as active as she can be with her grandpa at my hometown (in Lumut).

When we driving back to Wangsa Maju yesterday’s evening, she starts to get feverish warm.. And I’m getting curious and asking my wife when she first develops this fever? My wife said, “Around two days ago..” and I said “What?!..I didn’t see that this past few days, why?”…

My wife starts to explain that she’s given Ibuprofen (Nurofen Brand) to my daughter every 4 to 6 hours, which she request some from my neighbor at my hometown. When we want to go back, my wife returns the bottles and after 4 to 5 hours from my daughter last dosage, she starts to become weak and develop the normal fever symptoms.

Nurofen 200ml

Nurofen (Ibuprofen) for children – Orange Flavor

This morning she continues on the fever and weak. We do not keep Ibuprofen in our fridge, the last time we had about 3 weeks ago – I finish it myself because it’s been too long since it last opened, 3 month ago.

On her weakness, my daughter said to me “Papa, want Orange!”

I thought the ‘Orange’ means her favorite orange flavor multivitamin that she used to take every day, so I give her that to her hands. Then, she calls her mum…

“Mama, take this…” while give her mum, the multivitamin, and I just baffled…

As the day progressed, I when to office (in the morning) and planned myself during lunch time, I when back to buy Ibuprofen as soon as I can.

When I arrived home, my daughter just as weak to her lowest peak and I said to my wife, take this (ibuprofen) and start give 5 milliliters (one teaspoon) dose to her as soon as possible.

In the first 10 minutes, my daughter starts gaining energy, sitting and say… “Mama, want doughnut”.. Her favorite breakfast, good thing is we still have it at our dining table. Give to her and she starts eating it…hungry probably.

In 15 to 20 minutes, she starts her own self again, active here and there, request youtube children song from our ipad mini and starts sing-a-long.

Then, I start to think, does this means, the ‘Orange’ that she requested is ‘Ibuprofen orange flavor’ not the usual ‘Multivitamin orange flavor’?

I still reminded myself, if her fever hit more than 3 (usual) days, I will take her to nearest hospital for further checking. And…

I need to listen to what my daughter actually said in days forward.

